Law Offices of Donald J. Matson, PC.
Law Offices of Donald J. Matson, PC.

Call For A Free Consultation
(626) 600-3437

Blog

New Criminal Laws In California
  • By: Donald J. Matson, Esq.
  • Published: April 28, 2022

New Criminal Laws That May Reduce Sentencing In California Since the passing of Proposition 47 in California, there have been a number of new criminal laws put into place that reduce sentencing for certain criminal offenses. Under these new laws, if the offense is considered non-violent and the offender has no prior convictions on their record, they may be eligible to have their sentence reduced or eliminated altogether. Goals Of The New Criminal Laws In California These new laws were created with two main goals in mind – to help reduce overcrowding in prisons by eliminating low-level offenses from being classified as serious crimes and to provide more opportunities for rehabilitation for those who commit minor offenses. Many people believe that this will be beneficial for both offenders and society as a…Read More

What You Need To Know About PWID Charges
  • By: Donald J. Matson, Esq.
  • Published: February 13, 2022

PWID Charges: What You Need To Know PWID charges, or possession with intent to distribute, can be very serious drug crime charges. If convicted, you stand to face much harsher penalties than you do for simple drug possession charges. In fact, the punishments are more severe the more drugs are found in your possession. Here’s what you should know about PWID charges and how to fight for your rights under California law. What Do California Prosecutors Have to Prove In A PWID Case? In order to be successful, California prosecutors must prove three elements of the crime: The substance the defendant was found to be in possession of was a controlled and/or illegal substance To prove this point, prosecutors must prove that the defendant was in actual or constructive possession of the substance. They…Read More

DUI Laws In Pasadena CA
  • By: Donald J. Matson, Esq.
  • Published: January 31, 2022

Pasadena DUI Laws: What You Need To Know California DUI Laws are set in place to help prevent accidents, injury, and even death. California DUI Laws are written by the California Vehicle Code (VC). The penalties associated with a DUI Conviction will vary depending on whether it is your first offense or if you have prior convictions. It does not matter how much alcohol was involved in the accident; all that matters is that your blood alcohol content was over the legal limit. First Offense DUI In Pasadena The penalties associated with a First Offense DUI are as follows: Fine of $390-1000 Jail time for 96 hours to 6 months (depending on prior convictions) **Minimum 48 hours in jail if the DUI caused an accident involving injury or death Driver’s license suspension…Read More

Getting Arrested In California Without A Warrant
  • By: Donald J. Matson, Esq.
  • Published: December 31, 2021

Can You Get Arrested For A Criminal Offense In California Without An Arrest Warrant? An arrest is a seizure; thus, police must have a warrant or some other justified reason to make an arrest. Both the local and state police must respect your right according to the U.S. constitution and abide by California law in making an arrest for a Criminal offense in California. The police can arrest if they have a warrant signed by the magistrate judge. This legal document is only obtainable if the police present enough evidence that you committed the crime. The warrant will be invalid if the police intentionally present false information. In California, the police can arrest you with or without a warrant. If there is an arrest without a warrant, it is most likely for…Read More

Distinguishing Between Assault And Battery Under California Laws
  • By: Donald J. Matson, Esq.
  • Published: November 19, 2021

Assault vs Battery In California It is common for many to use assault and battery interchangeably. However, they are two criminal offenses that mean different cases entirely. This guide will help you to understand the major difference between assault and battery under California laws. What Is A Battery Under California Laws? A battery under California laws is when an individual charges another with a violent act. Hence, an offense is considered a battery when the violent act is carried out willfully with the precise intent of causing harm. Even if the action was done indirectly or the push did not cause pain, it is still considered a battery. A battery can also be in two panels; panel code 242 and panel code 243. Charges are under a panel based on the severity…Read More

California Felony & Misdemeanor Charges
  • By: Donald J. Matson, Esq.
  • Published: October 30, 2021

What Makes Misdemeanor Crimes & Felonies Different In California? Like most other American states, California treats a felony crime as significantly more severe in nature than a misdemeanor offense. The penalties associated with a felony charge if prosecutors are successful are typically tougher and last much longer. The most important difference to recognize between a misdemeanor and felony charges is the severity of all associated penalties, as well as the length of incarceration. This is what you should know. Felonies Defined Felony charges generally carry a penalty of more than one year in state prison. It’s normally a violent crime that involves deliberately causing critical bodily injury to someone else. Or, felony charges may be assessed when someone obtains large sums of money illegally. These are a few examples of common felony…Read More

4 Most Common Myths Of Crime TV Shows
  • By: Donald J. Matson, Esq.
  • Published: September 21, 2021

What Are The Most Common Myths Of Crime TV Shows? Criminal justice and fictional crime shows are among the most popular series on television. While enjoyable and interesting, these shows aren’t necessarily wholly truthful in their portrayals of how the U.S. criminal justice system works when someone is accused of and tried for a crime. Here’s what you should know about the most common myths of crime TV shows and how a criminal defense lawyer can assist you if you or a loved one have been charged with a criminal offense. The Investigation Moves Quickly Criminal investigators on television have less than one hour to solve a case, so the show’s authors must keep the plotline moving at a reasonable clip. As a result, a few stages of the criminal process condensed.…Read More

What Is The Self-Defense Defense In An Assault Case?
  • By: Donald J. Matson, Esq.
  • Published: August 16, 2021

The human body has an instinctual fight or flight response that can occur when a person is in a dangerous or highly stressful situation. In cases where a person feels they are in a life-or-death matter, the desire to survive no matter what is a primitive impulse that can result in behavior abnormal for that person. For example, a non-violent person may use lethal force to protect themselves in a fight. Self defense laws exist for this reason. If you’ve been charged with assault, battery, or another violent crime, you may be able to use a self-defense defense strategy. Here’s what you should know. Do I Have The Right To Defend Myself? Because humans have a natural fight response when faced with danger, people may have the right to defend themselves when…Read More

What You Need To Know About Burglary
  • By: Donald J. Matson, Esq.
  • Published: July 16, 2021

Burglary Charges In California While burglary is considered a wobbler crime and can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, it is more often than not charged as a felony. This crime, if convicted, carries serious penalties and consequences that have the potential to change your life. Here’s what you should understand about the crime of burglary and how a seasoned California criminal defense attorney can assist you in defending yourself against these charges. What Constitutes Burglary? Many people imagine burglary as a person robbing a bank with a firearm. But this is not necessarily the complete picture of what burglary really is. In fact, the definition of burglary is quite simple. Burglary can be charged anytime someone enters a building without the owner’s permission with the intent to steal…Read More

The Surprising Truth About Juvenile Shoplifters
  • By: Donald J. Matson, Esq.
  • Published: June 3, 2021

Juvenile Shoplifters: What You Need To Know Shoplifting is one of the most common crimes committed by juveniles. Whether for the thrill or because of peer pressure, there aren’t many other minor crimes as “popular” among teens and young adults. Here you’ll find revealing statistics and some alarming facts about juvenile shoplifters. Also, you’ll find how to help if your child is arrested for shoplifting. A Quarter Of All Shoplifters Are Kids According to a study published by the National Association for Shoplifting Prevention, 25% of all shoplifters are juveniles. Over Half of Adult Shoplifters Started When They Were Juveniles Of the 75% of adult shoplifters, 55% of them report that they were young when they began shoplifting. This means the shoplifting continued for many years. Shoplifters Aren’t Often Caught Shoplifters —…Read More

Page 1 of 5:12345»

Copyright©2023. Law Offices of Donald J. Matson, PC. All Rights Reserved.

Accessibility Accessibility
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U