California DUI Laws are set in place to help prevent accidents, injury, and even death. California DUI Laws are written by the California Vehicle Code (VC). The penalties associated with a DUI Conviction will vary depending on whether it is your first offense or if you have prior convictions. It does not matter how much alcohol was involved in the accident; all that matters is that your blood alcohol content was over the legal limit.
The penalties associated with a First Offense DUI are as follows:
**Minimum 48 hours in jail if the DUI caused an accident involving injury or death
The penalties associated with a Second Offense DUI are as follows:
**Mandatory minimum of 120 days in jail if the DUI caused injury or death to another person
The penalties associated with a Third Offense DUI are as follows:
** Mandatory minimum of 120 days in jail if the DUI caused injury or death to another person
The penalties associated with a Fourth or Subsequent Offense DUI are as follows:
Note: The penalties listed above are the minimum mandatory penalties. If it is found that there were aggravating factors present, such as high speed, great bodily injury, and vehicular manslaughter, the penalties could be increased
Laws regarding “driving under the influence” are strict in California. The penalties for a DUI Conviction can range from hefty fines to several years in prison, depending upon how many prior convictions you have.
If you’re arrested for DUI laws in Pasadena California, it’s important that you understand your rights and what your options are if you want to contest the charges or seek legal representation. Contact Don Matson today to learn more about how he may be able to help you.